(The third book in the Moomintroll series)

(A book in the Moomintroll series)

Finn Family Moomintroll (Moomins)


Moomintroll Stories Series | Moomin | Pinterest

Tove Jansson’s A Winter Book. She is more well-known for her Moomintroll series for children, but her writing for adults is exquisite: spare, beautiful and moving.

SINCE her death in 2001, the adult, English-speaking world has been waking up to the delights of Finnish author Tove Jansson. Discerning children have long cherished her for the magnificent Moomintroll series, and indeed, such was the longevity of Jansson's working life that there are those of us who started with trolls and migrated to the work that dominated the last few decades of her life.

Moomintroll Book Series Moomintroll Series Book 7

Title: Moominland Midwinter (Moomintroll Series)
Author(s): Tove Jansson
ISBN: 1-4395-1204-3 / 978-1-4395-1204-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Paw Prints 2008-07-10
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Moomintroll Book Series Moomintroll Series Book 3

Summer Festival: Festival hours begin at 10 a.m. Art work by Robert Johnson will be on display. "A Walk for Saima" is planned to feature the many memorials and dedications on the property. A Chicken Bar-B-Que with Finnish side dishes will begin serving at 11:30 a.m. Sally Cragin will present a reading from Tove Jansson's Moomintroll series for children and families. The reading will be followed by a craft activity of making tiny boats out of Birch bark. The cultural program begins at 1:30 p.m. Marita Cauthen, editor of the Raivaaja, will talk on "Raivaaja Today." This will be followed by silent movies (Buster Keaton, Charlie Chaplin, etc) with piano accompanist Richard Hughes.

Several series in at number nine, all equally good, and listed here as chapter books for advanced readers. The Moomintroll series by Tove Jansson. Bizarre, plot-driven stories about small creatures that look a little like hippos but walk on two legs. Proves that Finns are very bit as charmingly odd as we suspected. The Narnia series by CS Lewis. Good for kids, good for adults – if you’ve not been here since your own childhood. Much applauded, and for good reason. Don’t be put off by the quasi-religious messages! The Paddington books by Michael Bond. Much better in print than on the TV, where his character is somewhat simplified, Paddington is the anthropomorphised animal to beat all other anthropomorphised animals – and the competition is pretty stiff.